Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Brian Westbrook Not A Fan Of Replacing McCoy With Murray
Eagles Forum > Philadelphia Eagles Message Board > Philadelphia Eagles or Football Related Discussion
JeeQ
Former Eagles running back Brian Westbrook thinks Philadelphia’s running game got worse this offseason.

Westbrook and LeSean McCoy were teammates in 2009, and Westbrook thinks the Eagles should have stayed loyal to McCoy, rather than trading him away and then signing DeMarco Murray as his replacement.

“LeSean, he embodied what a running back was for me,” Westbrook told the Philadelphia Inquirer. “He’s a guy who can make you miss, can make big plays, can make plays in an open field. He wasn’t a great short-yardage back, but he wasn’t 220 [pounds], either. But what I want if I was a coach, on my team, are playmakers. I want guys that you may lose two yards here and there, but if you can hit that hole and run for me, that’s important to me. Because I know we have a chance in every single game.”

According to Westbrook, Murray’s great season last year was mostly a function of the Cowboys’ offensive line, while McCoy taking a step backward was a function of the Eagles’ injury-plagued offensive line.

“I hear that a lot about Murray being a one-cut runner – it’s easy being a one-cut runner when your holes are [as wide] as a truck,” Westbrook said. “I told this to LeSean: ‘You’ve got to play the cards that you’re dealt.’ Unfortunately, a lot of the offensive line was injured at the beginning of the year. Now, when you look back two years, when the offensive line was doing pretty well, he was much more of a one-cut runner, because he didn’t have to make moves in the backfield.”

Westbrook is far from alone in that opinion. But the only opinion that matters in Philadelphia is Chip Kelly’s.

mcnabbulous
JeeQ
QUOTE (mcnabbulous @ Apr 16 2015, 10:57 AM) *

And don't you ever forget it bitch wub.gif
mcnabbulous