Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: LeSean McCoy wants to talk to Eagles, but not about pay cut
Eagles Forum > Philadelphia Eagles Message Board > Philadelphia Eagles or Football Related Discussion
Phits
Sounds like he wants to be trade bait. I wonder what his market value is?

Via Jeff McLane of the Philadelphia Inquirer, McCoy said he’s happy to restructure his contract, so long as it doesn’t mean a cut in pay.

“I know how hard it is to keep a team together and I want to be part of this team. But I don’t want to take less money,” McCoy said.

LINK
BirdsWinBaby
QUOTE (Phits @ Jan 30 2015, 08:39 PM) *
Sounds like he wants to be trade bait. I wonder what his market value is?

LINK

when i saw this i was gonna ask how is this gonna work out....only cuz im not a contract expert

i have seen before many high profile athletes (lol..QBs) with mega contracts restructure so that the team could move money around and keep other players on the team

but doesnt that always involve the mega-contract guy accepting less money in that particular year as its moved around (maybe in future years) so they can sign the players around him?

RBs want their money cuz they dont last as long as QBs and dont have the clout to go from team to team demanding top tier money (ehhh...sorry shady but our guy is ok most of time for a fraction of your money. thx)

if shady wants all his money and is only guaranteed a mill this year...how can they 'restructure' so he still gets it all? can they move the other 9mil to other years as more guaranteed? so even if i get traded the Eagles still owe me 'X'? will he be ok with that?

hows it work?
nephillymike
McCoy shouldn't agree to a pay cut and frankly, we don't need to restructure his deal.

We have plenty of cap room and won't likely spend near it all.

BirdsWinBaby
QUOTE (nephillymike @ Jan 30 2015, 09:39 PM) *
McCoy shouldn't agree to a pay cut and frankly, we don't need to restructure his deal.